PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.
We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

butternut squash and sweet potatoes

Options
butternut squash and sweet potatoes could i use them together in a soup and how do i prepare them both as i have never used them before:confused:

(trying new veg due to Lidl half price offer at the moment...lol):rotfl:

thank you in advance for all replies
Debt free since September 2018 :j:j:j

Comments

• emmamcr
    emmamcr Posts: 17 Forumite
    Options
    They are both quite sweet so I'd use one or the other, both are lovely with chick peas in soup.

Butternut squash just needs peeling and cubing, and then boil in veg stock with chick peas or similar, some sesame seeds and some onion. When it's cooked, puree and pour a can of coconut milk and a squirt of lime ...yummy!

I would personally bake the sweet potatoes like normal ones (or even in the microwave) and serve them with chilli butter
  • sophiesmum_2
    sophiesmum_2 Posts: 4,965 Forumite
    Options
    Just peel and dice and chuck em in.

My favourite way of having butternut squash is to halve it longways, scoop out the seedy pulp stuff,then fill the hole with chopped spring onions,and feta cheese. Stick it in the oven to bake a while until the butternut is soft and then eat..Yummy:j :j

sweet potatoes can be used just like other potatoes but can go a bit mushy sometimes.

Just experiment yourself they are very versatile and easy to cook.

sophiesmum