Cancelling Gym Membership due to Forced Location Change

I am serving and have had to change my location within the UK, i therefore will not be able to continue using my civvie gym membership without having to travel from Plymouth to Bristol.

As it''s Bannatyne's i have just seen on another MSE board that it's a 3 month notice period, (i was told 30days on joining). But the question is, as i will not practically be able to attend for at least 12 to 15 months would this be decent grounds to get the three months reduced?

Replies

• I have no personal experience with Bannatynnes but I believe most gyms will let you cancel if you're moving away providing your new residence will make it impossible for you to continue going to that gym regularly (as it is in your case).

In some cases, they might make you transfer your membership to a more local gym, if it's availabe. I think (not sure!) it's LA Fitness that has some sort of clause that, if there's another gym within so many miles of your new home, they'll transfer your membership there instead of cancelling it altogether.

If I were you I'd contact the membership staff asap and explain the situation, the more notice you give, the better.

Good luck!
    :jBaby girl born 3rd October 2012:j
  • I have no personal experience with Bannatynnes but I believe most gyms will let you cancel if you're moving away providing your new residence will make it impossible for you to continue going to that gym regularly (as it is in your case).

In some cases, they might make you transfer your membership to a more local gym, if it's availabe. I think (not sure!) it's LA Fitness that has some sort of clause that, if there's another gym within so many miles of your new home, they'll transfer your membership there instead of cancelling it altogether.

If I were you I'd contact the membership staff asap and explain the situation, the more notice you give, the better.

Good luck!