🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

British Gas changed our tarriff without letting us know...now they want more money!

Options
Hi,
this is the first time I've posted on here, so sorry if any of these issues are covered elsewhere, but I dont know where else to go!

Basically, me and my partner were with british gas (just electricity) for our small 1 bed flat. We originally signed up for a websaver 4 tarriff which meant we payed £45 a month. this was perfect as I was a student with a part time job and he worked full time so we didnt have a great deal of money for electricity, it also meant we accrued a credit for the winter months. However we both got made redundant in the same week (2 months after I finished uni) so we were forced to move back into our parents houses. When I phoned British Gas to tell them we were moving and to question an email they send us saying our payments were going upto £72/p month they said this was down to the price increases and the websaver wasnt covering our usage. The problem I have is that in this email, it doesnt mention the fact that our original websaver tarriff wasnt covering our usage. It just stated that electricity prices were increasing. So in my opinion they moved us from a fixed price tarriff to a standard without our knowledge. I accept prices are increasing for everyone, but I feel that I wasnt told about the change of our tarriff until I phoned them to tell them I was moving.