🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Has anyone hired their wedding dress?

Options
Hi,

This is my first time posting here, so hello :wave:

I'm getting married in May 2012, and we're splashing out quite a lot on the venue, so I'm trying to make cut backs on where I'm happy to compromise - and one of those is my dress.

I'm thinking of hiring it, but for the life of me can't find any shops which seem to rent them out in my area (Bristol). Along with that, I can't find anywhere online which gives guide prices for hiring wedding dresses - I'm assuming they are much cheaper, but I'm not 100% sure.

Have any of you hired your wedding dresses? If so, would you mind letting me know how much it cost? Also, can the dresses be altered in size?

Finally, can anyone recommend or know of any shops around Bath or Bristol which hire out wedding dresses? My search online isn't turning anything up?

Many thanks,
Ohara x

Comments

• roses
    roses Posts: 2,330 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    My friend hired her dress. It worked out abot 25% less than buying a brand new one. She was happy but I thought it was a total waste of money! Have you considered second hand? A hired one will be worn anyway and second hand should cost about 25% of original price.
  • ohara09
    ohara09 Posts: 62 Forumite
    edited 29 August 2011 at 1:38PM
    Options
    Thanks for your reply Roses - I'm a little shocked it was only about 25% saving!