Holiday from work for planning.

Options
Was just wondering as a result of being moaned at... who has holiday booked from work in the week leading upto their wedding to do finishing touches and planning (aka running around like a headless chicken)

Actually if anyone isn't doing this please let me know! I want to know I'm not the only one thinking that isn't really necessary. I don't want to waste my holiday, I don't get enough as it is.

Comments

• McKneff
    McKneff Posts: 38,825 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    If everything isnt ready before the last week, youre in trouble.

Personally, I would take the Thursday and Friday off to chill, and be excited at the same time.

Enjoy...............
    make the most of it, we are only here for the weekend.
    and we will never, ever return.
  • emz118
    emz118 Posts: 600 Forumite
    Options
    I am a teacher, so I can't pick and choose my holidays... they are when they are!!!

But, I chose the Monday after we've been off for a week already, so I won't be working in the week running up to the wedding.

I think I will be doing things like table plans, place names, favours, guest books, finishing off centrepieces etc, as well as having my nails done and having a few days to chill out.

I would say book it off just in case you need it, it would be awful to be trying to do things as well as working!

Although, a TA from work got married on a saturday, and she only had Friday off then was back in on the Monday, so I guess it depends on how big the wedding is and how much of an organisational nightmare it is!
    First date 10.2.2002
    Engaged 18.8.2010
    Wedding 9.4.2012
    Baby #1 due 26.2.2014 :j
  • Tiara_2
    Tiara_2 Posts: 1,203 Forumite
    Options