New potatoes for Xmas

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
13 replies 1.6K views
powershopperpowershopper Forumite
329 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
Today I got some reduced price compost bags in Mr T's, and got to thinking about planting some potatoes for Xmas. MMMMM new spuds with Christmas dinner:j Unfortunately I don't know when to start, or wether I can get seed potatoes . Or should I take a chance and sprout some supermarket spuds. We have a greenhouse I could protect them in if we have another early spell of bad weather.
Absolutely ANY advice is welcome.:think::think:

Replies

• I was going to post a link to the sutton website but couldn't as I'm a newbie (in every sense of the word) as they have late potatoes showing as available there so it seems you can still plant potatoes even now. It even metions in there about leaving potatoes in the ground until Christmas.

I came across this yesterday when I searched late potatoes in google.co.uk. Should be easy to find.
  • adelightadelight Forumite
    2.7K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    99p store and wilko(massively reduced) have spuds for growing and big spud growing kits.
    Living cheap in central London :rotfl:
  • FarwayFarway Forumite
    10.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I just use Charlotte from Lidl, in a tub, but move into cold greenhouse come the autumn

The haulm may die back but the spuds will keep in the compost ready for Christmas

Somewhere is a thread on Christmas spuds, from memory plant sometime mid August to September, which gives them time to get going while weather is still warm

You may have to spray for potato blight this time of year
  • A._BadgerA._Badger Forumite
    5.6K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭