Do I have any rights? card details on display on hacked account.

Options
I am wondering if anyone would know what rights I have regarding an online game that I played for the last three years.

I tried to sign into my account last week and was told that my details were not correct. Did the "forgotten password" thing and my details were not sent to my email account, I am no expert in things like this, I am assuming my email account was hacked. If i go to the player rankings page on the website my account is there but it now has a russian name instead of my own.

I did pay real money a few times using my debit card, and I am afraid my card details are still there.

I have sent an email to the support team who said right away they cannot do anything to help me, i cannot have the account back and if i am not happy to go to the police because it is my responsibility to keep my account safe not theirs, that is fair enough, but they wont even go into the account to check my card details are still on display.

Seeing as support will not help me, is there anyone I can contact who could help me with this? I tried consumer direct but they couldnt really help me.

Do i have any rights? support said it was my fault my account got hacked, but Im not really one for giving out my private details, i didnt ask for this to happen.

Comments

• WelshSun
    WelshSun Posts: 246 Forumite
    Options
    What website is it and where is it based??
    PM me if you want.
  • DCFC79
    DCFC79 Posts: 40,598 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    WelshSun wrote: »
    What website is it and where is it based??
    PM me if you want.

no need to PM, if he posted the website then it would help others in the future

first thing to do OP is cncel the card, get on to the fraud dept of your bank and say what you said here, i think you can get your card cancelled at this time of night,
  • paper_hearts_2
    Options