We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

HELP! My Potatos....

Options
seem to be falling over.

I'm a bit of a novice gardener... infact novice everything, but with all the books and telly programs telling me that its worth a go.... I am

Im growing king edwards and maris piper, both in bags/pots
the maris piper appear to be ok, still standing upright

however the king edwards until the weekend were nice and bushy with leaves and strong stems and now they look.... like they have fallen over. they havents wilted, the leaves look the same, so do the stems, but the best word to describe them is that they have slumped, very dramatically, the extenet of which has broken a branch of leaves from stems all crushing down over the lip of the bag.....

can i save them? or have i in some extreme novice way killed them without even trying?!?
I Love My Library....when I finish/don't like a book, no one gets upset when I return it!
Starting 210
7lbs this month = 5.5
Total loss = 5.5
Too many UFOs to count
:EasterBun

Comments

• splodger_seedswapper
    Options
    did you have heavy rain / strong winds over the weekend?

spud foliage will flop quite badly in those circumstances

if they are just splayed - but foliage still nice and green - don't worry about it - if they start to discolour and or start to die back - then they have been damaged

if they do start to die back - best thing to do is chop off the haulm and / or dig them up - but they may not be that well developed (depending on how long they have been growing)

if in doubt - post pics ;)
    saving money by growing my own - much of which gets drunk
    made loads last year :beer:
  • PerfectParadox
    Options
    thank you!