Can our childs school charge vat on school uniform ?

Options
My daughters new secondary school have informed us that there are compulsary items we must buy for our daughter, blazer, tie and pe kit mainly, This comes to £79. We only have the option of buying it from one supplier also which i find terrible.

My questions are as follows:

1. Can they charge VAT on school uniform which has the school logo ?

2. Can they force us to buy from one supplier?

i would be so greatful for any help.

Thank you
dean

Comments

• fluffnutter
    fluffnutter Posts: 23,179 Forumite
    Options
    Re. VAT, uniforms are generally exempt unless they're not exclusively worn by the under 14s. So if this is a secondary school, VAT might well be appropriate. However, I'm finding the rules a little difficult to comprehend so you're best to check them out yourself.

Re. your second question... is this is state school? If so, then I doubt it. But I'm not an expert. There's an interesting BBC article about it here although it's fairly old now.
    "Growth for growth's sake is the ideology of the cancer cell" - Edward Abbey.
  • Hintza
    Hintza Posts: 19,420 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    deankent wrote: »
    2. Can they force us to buy from one supplier?

No but can you find another supplier? School uniform has always been relatively expensive (but buy for growth and get two years out of it) but you might find the blazer cheaper and source a badge?
  • shellsuit
    shellsuit Posts: 24,749 Forumite
    First Post Photogenic First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I can only get my kid's (both teens in high scool) blazers, skirt, jumpers/tank tops, tie and PE kits from one supplier.

It's pants because there's no way we can shop around to get it any cheaper.
    Tank fly boss walk jam nitty gritty...
  • fluffnutter
    Options
    The BBC article that I've linked to above has this point to make: