'Heading up the new Independent Student Finance Taskforce' blog discussion

Former_MSE_Lee
Former_MSE_Lee Posts: 343 Forumite
This is the discussion to link on the back of Martin's blog. Please read the blog first, as this discussion follows it.

Please click 'post reply' to discuss below.

Comments

• rde
    rde Posts: 67 Forumite
    Martin,

I can see your reasonings for joining the group, but you are getting involved in a very unpopular concept. I am a graduate, from when the old grants system was around. I did a five year veterinary medicine course, graduating 25 years ago. We were told in final year that it had cost £40,000 to put each of us through college. So in last 25 years I will have needed to pay under £2000 a year in extra tax to repay that money spent on me. I reckon I've done that, and I will be working for another 12 years at least. If student loans were around then, I would have paid the extra tax AND the loan back. Unfair or what! No wonder people are thinking twice about taking these kinds of courses. Despite what you are saying, I would have. In my first few years post graduating finances were tight enough as it was.

The government have drawn you in to give the whole system some credibility. By getting involved you are giving it your blessing.

Just my twopenny worth.
  • Rafter
    Rafter Posts: 3,850
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Martin,

I wholeheartedly support your heading up the new taskforce.

As you clearly state there is not a lot that can be done to stop the principle that if you voluntarily go to university then you should pay back the benefits rather than that cost being borne by general taxation.

Sure, those who have gone before benefited from grants and 'free' higher education but that doesn't necessarily mean that that system was fair on those who never went to university and ended up paying for those who do.