What car should I buy?

Options
PigginSkint
PigginSkint Posts: 2,706 Forumite
First Anniversary Combo Breaker
I have just cleared a big loan which means I have a lot more disposable income every month now – although the serious debt-busting still continues!

If the price is right I would really like to buy a car – and if the price is not right I shan’t bother, but continue what I have been doing for the past 6 years i.e. hiring one when we need one.

I would be grateful for any suggestions for cars that might fit my criteria:
  • Relatively cheap to insure, tax and with good fuel economy (I am seriously considering going down the diesel route)
  • Manual transmission if possible – although I have been driving automatics for the past few years
  • Decent amount of boot space – we go camping
  • Decent amount of head room – there are 2 6-footers in the family (my son and my other half)
  • Not too expensive to buy – I might be prepared to go up to c £5000, but would prefer to keep it nearer the £2000 mark if I can
Our situation is:
  • I am a 40-year-old female and I have been driving since I was 17 – passed my test at 18
  • I don’t drive regularly as such but have been hiring cars at least once a year (and usually about 3 times a year) for the past 6 years – it was 6 years ago that I sold my last car
  • I have no no-claims bonus as it is 6 years since I owned a car
  • My 41-year-old male partner-in-life is currently learning to drive and is due to take his practical test (he has passed his theory) on 30th June, so ideally we would like a car that he can drive
Any suggestions gratefully received!
PigginSkint's debt free diary
DFW Nerd 1049 Amazon Sellers Club member 54
Total mortgage debt: 30/4/17 £14090.77 (Last payment: September 2021)
LTSB Loan 30/4/17 £6633.71 (reduction by 48%)
Total credit cards: 30/4/17 £25971.91 :eek:
Total non-mortgage debt: 30/4/17 £32876.49 :eek:

Comments

• wba31
    wba31 Posts: 2,189 Forumite
    Options