3 Points, tell insurance company?

Options
I am a named driver on my wifes car insurance. Have just picked up 3 points for speeding. Does this affect the insurance policy? Do I have to notify them?

Comments

• brazilianwax
    Options
    The_Kaiser wrote:
    I am a named driver on my wifes car insurance. Have just picked up 3 points for speeding. Does this affect the insurance policy? Do I have to notify them?

Yes you do. You'll need to check the policy docs to see whether you have to tell them immediately, or when she renews.

Claire
    :A MSE's turbo-charged CurlyWurlyGirly:A
    ;)Thinks Naughty Things Too Much Clique Member No 3, 4 & 5 ;)
  • iceicebaby
    iceicebaby Posts: 3,633 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Yes you do as not declaring material facts can void the insurance policy. this means that if you get insurance elsewhere when they ask the question "have you ever had a policy cancelled or had any special terms imposed on it" you will have to answer yes. This will increase your premium and some insureres may also refuse to insure you.

Hope this helps;)
    Baby Ice arrived 17th April 2011. Tired.com! :j
  • robnye
    robnye Posts: 5,411 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    yes and yes.
    yes you need to inform them
    yes it will affect your insurance premiums but depends on the company as to whether it effects from you tell them or from renewal.....

i had the same problem, took 5 years for it be ignored/dropped from being taken into account for new insurance
    smile --- it makes people wonder what you are up to.... ;) :cool:
  • Fey_2
    Fey_2 Posts: 10 Forumite
    Options