Advice for first time pension planner

Options
Hi everyone,

I've recently been thinking that it's about time I started some proper retirement planning, and could use some advice on pensions.

I'm 25 at the moment with a salary in the 40% tax bracket. I've been maxing out a cash ISA for the past two years, and aim to do so up until retirement age (although I do plan to use the savings in my ISA for a house deposit within the next couple of years).

To compliment my ISA I'm now looking to set up a penison. I work for a very small company that doesn't offer a contributory pension at the moment, and so I'll have to go down the private pension route. On top of my ISA, I can save around £400 per month with my current salary and outgoings.

At the moment I'm leaning towards a private or stakeholder pension. I do have a reasonable understanding of investment basics, but no real-world practice at the moment, and so feel that a SIPP is likely over my head (though I would be happy to put the time into improving my financial knowledge and monitoring funds so long as charges work out).

My current plan is to compare the historical performance and charges of some of the big providers (e.g. Standard Life, Scottish Widows, etc.) and pick the one that seemed to tick boxes in both cases.

Does this seem like a good approach, or would it be worth me taking another look at SIPPs again? I did have a brief look at the SIPP charges at Hargreaves Lansdown, but the fund charges appeared higher than those of stakeholder pensions at Scottish Widows, for example. This combined with my current lack of investment experience is what initially put me off.

Any further advice based on my situation would be most welcome.

Cheers,
James

Comments

• jem16
    jem16 Posts: 19,404 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Photogenic
    Options
    jdobrowski wrote: »
    At the moment I'm leaning towards a private or stakeholder pension.