Mr & Mrs P's savings diary...

Options
Little_Pickle
Little_Pickle Posts: 3,022 Forumite
edited 1 March 2011 at 11:16AM in Debt free diaries
Hi all,

We are now (finally) debt free and are hoping to save towards a house. (Apart from Hubby's student loan!)

We have a little in savings but not much left after having our son nearly 2 years ago and a massive wedding last year. :)

We have very good jobs but we curently rent, our son's nursery care is on the 'most expensive' end of the UK's scale (all because of WHERE we live) and we have gotten too used to having what we want!!!

We have spent 7 lovely years earning money and then spending it on travel, nights out, good food, good wine and generally just being wasteful!

Time to change things a little!

In our defence, we managed to save to have our son (I was a contractor and was entitled to standard gov. maternity pay only) so taking a year off without my salary was a massive downturn in finances. and then we managed to pay for our wedding which was approx £14k.

Now we are starting out again for our biggest savings push to date...
We aim to save a staggering £100k in the next 3 years... a MASSIVE task!!! £5k for our upcoming NZ trip, £20k to pay off hubby's student loan and £75k to buy a house.

We are 1.5% of the way there and are literally starting from scratch!
Wish us luck... here we go.....eeeek!

Comments

• Emzilla
    Emzilla Posts: 3,810 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Many congratulations on becoming debt free and wishing you lots of luck for getting the money for your house deposit. :T

Emz xx
  • Little_Pickle
    Options
    So, our budget is sorted. We have the magical numbers we need to stick to!

we have been quite tough on ourselves, but if we stick to it we will own most of a house... therefore a smaller mortgage... but that's the second part of the story... back to part 1!

This is the breakdown of what we have to spend.