do you have a spreadsheet to track the progress of your mortgage?

I'm currently deliberating whether I need a spreadsheet to track my mortgage and OP progress.

We are 6 months into a 25 year mortgage. At the moment we only get annual statements and have no facility to view our account online. I find this frustrating. That said, I know through reading the boards that few people ever get their spreadsheets 100% accurate, so I think not having an accurate spreadsheet would also bug me (did I mention that I'm a bit anal :D)?

what sums can your spreadsheet do and do you feel it benefits you? Or are you spreadsheet-free and happy for it?
know thyself
Nid wy'n gofyn bywyd moethus...

Replies

• edited 21 February 2011 at 7:55PM
    whatyadoinsuckawhatyadoinsucka Forumite
    737 Posts
    edited 21 February 2011 at 7:55PM
    as an anal accountant i have a spreadsheet

with interest rates calculated to 1/12 ie currently paying 2.5% which is 1.00205166 per month.

therefore starting balance multiplied by 1 minus 1.00205166 = interest added on, less standard repayment, less overpayment = closing balance
    i can see for x date in the future my estimated mortgage balance

Although for future months i have Base rate at 2% or higher.
    therefore with excess rates i can see an aproximate balance at any point in time

every now and then i can log onto my bank and get the mortgage balance as at the 2nd of the month.
    the interest calculated is usually out by a few days worth of interest, not yet anal enough to calculate interest on a daily basis, although its likely the bank are charging incorrectly

it also show LTV on the most recent vaulation each month, so i can see by november I'm down to 70%
  • I hada spreadsheet and I liked it... Someone on this board gave a link to download it but laptop replacment and I forgot to move it from one to the other
    MF aim 10th December 2020 :j:eek:
    MFW 2012 no86 OP 0/2000 :D