We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Advice for Internet Businesses and Premium Numbers

Options
Hi,

I just read the thread on starting a clothing website and I decided to start a thread with some advice.

I currently run https://www.whytravellite.com - Im an agent for Holiday Extras selling their Airport Parking. Currently having a little shake up of the site to keep it competitive so have a look!

Anyway - Enough of the plugs! I wanted to give some advice so here it is. All this info is based on my own experiences on the Internet and of course I made some mistakes too.

1. The Early Days

Even before you buy your domain name - The name your website is going to be called you need to do some research. The internet is a huge place, some sectors of industry are overcrowded and thus you will never comptete on Google or any other search engine. A great example of this is the Travel sector - I found out at an early stage that Why Travel Lite.com could never compete with the likes of Travel City or Experdia, so I decided to become a big fish in a medium sized pond (UK Airport Parking).

Its better to make a small website that serves a niche market than a large website that has to compete with the big boys. You'll never earn money that way.