A hamper for an Aunt & Nan who is Diabetic??

Options
Hi want to make an Hamper for an elderly Aunt and a Nan who are both diabetic and has to have a low fat diet too! :eek:

Any ideas what to put in?? Doesnt have to be all food.

I would prefer to spend about £20 on each.

Also (sorry i am an complete novice!) but i guess i buy a basket and i saw that you can buy the cellophane from the florists.

Any tips on where to get the baskets from?

Thank you in advance for any tips XX :T
i love the paidtoshop website X

Comments

• tinselfairy
    Options
    Not food related but how about a book of stamps, handy to have in the house, maybe some nice writing paper and envelopes to go with them.
    ...it is not of more importance than daily life, which I have an enduring wish to make as useful and beautiful as possible.

Georgie Burne-Jones
  • sugaJen
    sugaJen Posts: 475 Forumite
    Options
    Hat, scarf and gloves, puzzle book, some kind of foot care kit,

Wilko's had a decent selection of wicker baskets, I got a 1 that will beused for a hamper for £3.99, I noticed home bargains had some seagrass ones but didnt see the price.

Jen
    Good enough club member number 14
  • recovering_spendaholic
    Options
    I think all of the above are nice, plus maybe a diabetic cookbook - you can pick them up for under a fiver in the likes of the Works and so on. Just don't do what I did last year!! I bought a lovely box of sugar free chocolates for a girl I work with who had just become diabetic at 50. They looked fab and clearly said no sugar. She was thrilled and spent all day Christmas Day nibbling on them and then was up all night on the loo because apparantly sugar free chocolate and sweets are laxatives if you eat more than one or two of them!!
    Jane

ENDIS. Employed, no disposable income or savings!
  • Prudent
    Prudent Posts: 11,451 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options