Help with Stocks?

Options
Hi all,

I'm new to the world of stocks, I saw earlier a post from Martin stating that Hoodles and Brennan are the cheapest for buying stocks and selling them. I have some definite ideas on which stocks I want, the question I have is when I purchase them were do they go? Do I need an ISA account? Or can you buy stocks and shares from an ISA? I thought when you put cash in an ISA it was frozen? I want to buy the stocks and obviously avoid the theiving tax man as much as possible, I am new to all this any assistance you could relay would be greatly appreciated

Regards
M

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,557 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    the question I have is when I purchase them were do they go?

If you get share certificates, the go into safe keeping. Ideally a fireproof safe but a secure cabinet if not. A lot of the time you dont need certificates now if you use a nominee account.
    Do I need an ISA account?

If you benefit from using an ISA, then yes. If not, then no.
    Or can you buy stocks and shares from an ISA?

You can. A self select ISA is the product there.
    I thought when you put cash in an ISA it was frozen?

No. There would be no reason to put money into an ISA if it was then frozen.
    I want to buy the stocks and obviously avoid the theiving tax man as much as possible

What sorts of amounts are you looking at? If you arent a higher rate taxpayer and the amounts are small, then utilising the ISA may be an unneccessary cost. Although if the plan is for a long term holding, then it could be worthwhile if you see your income rising to higher rate tax levels in future.