Hardwearing school shoes?

Options
13»

Comments

• sazziecee
    sazziecee Posts: 359 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks everyone for your tips, I will take a look in Clarks and also consider some DM boots for him (although he hates laces, thats another problem we have.. he is capable of tying them, but he just wont do it..)

Interesting that it *could* be related to his autism, but it is ONLY his school shoes he has ever done it to, so would it not be ALL shoes if it was a compulsion?

Got worse things to think about at the moment today though, he has been excluded for the afternoon for punching someone.... aaaaagh
  • HRV
    HRV Posts: 290 Forumite
    Options
    As a teacher I see alot of scuffed shoes- the pairs I have noticed that seem to last, polish up well and dont scuff too much are little timerland black boots- expensive im sure- but if they last????

Myself Im not overly keen on the look of them but I have many very boistrous boys (reception children) in my class and these do reallly last. They have quite a chunky sole and I think a sort of rubbery edge.
    Hope that helps- boys will be boys!!!
  • sazziecee
    sazziecee Posts: 359 Forumite
    Options
    Well as the Clarks sale started today I have ordered him 2 pairs to be delivered to store to try, both have a "bumper strip" but one has a more substantial one than the other, except these ones are nubuck compared to the others being full "normal" leather. So I will see which ones seem the better value pair.

I wanted to get them in store, but my local store had NO sale childrens shoes in, only adults which I thought was a bit ridiculous but oh well!

I got him measured too and he is a 13.5 G, so it's probably best I get them from Clarks as he obviuously has wide feet. I will see how he gets on with these and then look into seeing if he is indeed flat footed or anything.