Help and advice please - Newbie!

Options
Hello all :j

Ok ive been a lurker before and now i need some good advice

Ok in 2001 i took out an account with barclays while i was at uni, they offered me £3000 o/draft and being a poor student i took it. Anyway to cut a long story short they closed my account just this side of -£3000. I was miffed and it really messed me up. So i thought screw them, i left AND NEVER contacted them again. This is now 5 years later and ive moved house etc since. I received a letter from lowell regarding the outstanding balance that they have obviously bought from barclays, no doubt for pence. Anyway i gave them a call and said i can pay £25 per month as thats all i could afford, he said basically system says no. Oh well, i sent them a financial statement and have not heard anything since. Today lo and behold another letter arrives

Dear Mr

ref *****
original creditor : barclays bank plc
balance just under £3000

In previous letters sent to you (NEVER RECEIVED ANY) it was made clear that unless an acceptable offer od repayment was made, we would take appropriate steps to recover the amount owing

As you have failed to make a suitable offer of repayment to wards the outstanding amount, we now intend to instruct an agent to visit your home and discuss payment.

blah blah blah

call us NOW on 0999999999 etc

Ok first off yes its my debt, no prblems with that.

I do not wish anyone to visit me or tresspass on my property unless they want a (edit) in their back. I am prepared to be reasonable and pay what I can currently afford.Surely £25 per month is better than £0>?

Is this a case of lowell buy 100 debts and hope to strike lucky with one? Ive heard bad things about them and their methods? They even asked me to make token payment over the phone with debit card, no chance i said?