Does the Windows 7 Firewall provide adequate protection ?

in Techie Stuff
9 replies 2.4K views
Hi

At the moment I'm in middle of setting up a new laptop for a friend and installing the programs she normally uses.

The operating system is Windows 7 which seems great but is new to me. It had a McAfee trial which I uninstalled and replaced with Microsoft Security Essentials (which I've been using successfully on my own Vista laptop for several months without any problems)

Regarding firewall, I've used the free Sunbelt one for several years and find it great but unfortunately it does not support Windows 7.

As I'm not fully up to speed with Windows 7, could more knowledgeable forum members please let me know if its standard firewall provides adequate protection ?

If not, what are the best recommendations for a free firewall compatible with Windows 7 - 64 bit ?

Before settling on Sunbelt, I tried Comodo but found it very intrusive and complicated so would prefer to avoid it.

Many thanks in advance for help !!

Replies

• poppy10_2poppy10_2 Forumite
    6.5K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    Depends what you mean by adequate protection. A combination of Windows Firewall and your broadband router's NAT will protect you against most random attacks, and it is unlikely that you will be singled out for a more in-depth attack if you are not a major corporation or government agency.

Sunbelt and Comodo do however offer some things that Windows firewall doesn't, such as an outgoing filter - I can use Comodo to block various programs from phoning home or trying to auto-update themselves without permission, whereas Windows Firewall does not provide program-by-program blocking of outgoing traffic.
    poppy10
  • edited 30 September 2010 at 2:07PM
    jayme1jayme1 Forumite
    2.2K Posts
    edited 30 September 2010 at 2:07PM