student credit cards

Options
I am a third year student on a 5 year course and would like to build my credit rating so i can stooz in the future.

I have been turned down from store cards in the past.

I obtained my credit record from the experian, equifax etc. and basically I have no history.

I do now have different bills in my name phone, electricity, broadband, mobile phone etc. and am on the electoral register etc.

I was wondering if there are any cards out there for me??? Or are there any students out there with decent credit cards. I just want to build up a decent record with a view to stoozing.

any advice??

Comments

• I have a vested interest here...the username's a giveaway...but Barclaycard Student is the cheapest of all the Student credit cards (14.9% APR). It has text message reminders for bill payments and no over-limit fees. Maximum credit limit at account opening is £600.

Take your point about building a credit history but I won't be the only one on here to remind you that it can work the other way too!
  • CIMA_LOVER
    Options
    I have writen to Your Customer Experience Director, because your company does not upgrade my card!
  • sdj25
    sdj25 Posts: 278 Forumite
    Options
    Any advice

I probably speak for alot of people on this board / forum. DONT DO IT! Don't worry at all about building your credit history - that will come if & when you need it.

Barclaycard do probably have the best deal out there at the moment. But if you need extra cash - have a look into the 0% overdrafts on offer. Barclays got a bit slammed in the financial world for encouraging student debt recently.
  • Experian_company_representative
    Experian_company_representative Posts: 2,134 Organisation Representative
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Experian produces a free credit guide for students, which you might find useful. Visit https://www.experian.co.uk/learningzone and look in the Credit Crossroads section.

James