Getting free stuff from complaining

Options
I was just reading the thread about the rude Tesco cashier, and someone suggested putting a complaint in about her as Tesco's might offer some vouchers. It reminded me of when I was a student - I used to complain about any little tiny thing and I almost always got a response and some form of "compensation" for my trouble. My biggest result (!) was when I bought some Chicken Kievs from a large supermarket chain that I thought were a bit iffy when defrosted. So I packed my bit of chicken up and sent it back to them complaining about the quality. I received £12 in supermarket vouchers which, as a student, paid for a whole weeks food!

What is the best free stuff you've got from complaining?

Comments

• Imelda
    Imelda Posts: 1,399 Forumite
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I was also a student when I did this.....
    I bought a packet of caramel mcvities (they were new then) and when I bit into one, it had no caramel, I bit into the next and again no caramel. The whole packet was like it, so I sent them back, a whole packet of biscuits with one bite taken out of each one! About a week later a box arrived and inside was 24 packets of biscuits! Result!
    Saving for an early retirement!
  • MascaraMinx
    Options
    Imelda wrote:
    I was also a student when I did this.....
    I bought a packet of caramel mcvities (they were new then) and when I bit into one, it had no caramel, I bit into the next and again no caramel. The whole packet was like it, so I sent them back, a whole packet of biscuits with one bite taken out of each one! About a week later a box arrived and inside was 24 packets of biscuits! Result!

:rotfl: I did the same with a pack of Penguins! They were meant to be mixed flavours but they were all plain, so I sent them back and got 48 biscuits through the post!!!!!
  • angeldeelite
    Options