help required

Options
Right I am new to this and I was hoping someone could help my mum save some money....

My sister (v irresponsible) started a student Barclaycard and ran up a debt of £400; my mum has now been paying it for a year and al she seems to be doing is just paying the interest and maybe £5 of the debt.

I read an article on this site about 0% interest on some new cards (balance transfers).

As far as I understand it (which is not much at all) all she needs to do is apply for a new card with interest free for 12 months (as she wants to clear it) on balance transfers and then transfer the balance from my sisters Barclaycard and just work her way trough paying it (i.e. at least min payment). Is this correct?

What card company/card would you recommend? (She cannot get a Barclay card as she already has one in her name)

Is it possible for her to transfer the balance of my sisters Barclaycard?

Is there a charge for the transfer?

Tanx for your help guys and gals
Please be genital with me!

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,101 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    First thing that hits me is why was/is your Mum paying a debt that does not belong to her??? Without meaning to be offensive, your description makes it sound like your Mum does not have a lot of money.

The debt is not hers, she should stop paying it and let Barclaycard deal with your sister. £400 isn't that much, but I understand that if there isn't much money coming in, it can be a problem.

I would never pay someone elses debt - if I ever have kids in the future, if they borrow it, they pay it back. You really need to make your Mum see that it's her daughters responsibility, not hers.

(The reason I haven't suggested any cards is because your Mum shouldn't pay this debt).
  • johnllew
    johnllew Posts: 1,928 Forumite
    Options