Starting a medical degree 2006

Options
Dear all,

I'm about to start a degree in medicine in a couple of weeks. I'm a mature student (28) and have just completed a Ph.D in vascular physiology (well, the viva is on the same day as my enrolment for medical school).

Are there any other medical students out there that can offer me any advice? I'm clueless as to professional studies loans and haven't got a clue (still!) as to my finances (time has gone too fast this year!)

Any help/advice appreciated!

Comments

• DrFluffy
    DrFluffy Posts: 2,549 Forumite
    Options
    Hi AJ! What do you want to know? ;)

I hope you've got your drinking head on for Freshers! I will track you down. Mwhahahaaaa!
    April Grocery Challenge £81/£120
  • free_radical
    Options
    DrFluffy wrote:
    Hi AJ! What do you want to know? ;)

I hope you've got your drinking head on for Freshers! I will track you down. Mwhahahaaaa!

Can't wait to meet everyone on the 16th! My drinking head is always on!

If I transfer my account to HSBC from Barclays and arrange a loan do I have to pay a consultation fee? I'm sure someone mentioned somewhere that to take out a PSL they charge you something like £400! Eek!
  • DrFluffy
    Options
    I was only thinking of you this afternoon. Did you sort out work? Waterstones on Gower Street are looking for 'temporary book sellers' from now til Christmas... Might be the sort of thing you can get to fit with the year 1 timetable...

No idea about the £400 thing...
  • kingmonkey
    Options
    Buy second hand textbooks + try and use the library. In my first year I remember that the most popular books were not available when course work deadlines were approaching.

If you are going to buy new books (which you will) then try and buy in a group of friends and share.

Don't bother buying a skeleton.

Make your own sandwiches for lunchtime.