Interest Rates: Everything you ever wanted to know Article Discussion

Options

Comments

• twwidd
    Options
    I think I've been caught out to the tune of thousands by a thing called "front loaded interest". Somebody please tell me if it's legal or if I have any options.

I have a poor credit score but a reasonable income and recently bought a car on HP. The interest rate is punishing (24.2% APR) but I made sure I could over-pay the loan, reducing the term and (I thought) the interest too.

I took the loan out in June and called yesterday to make a payment of 2,000 pounds (almost a third of the amount borrowed) and asked them to re-calculate the term of the loan. The man on the phone then told me the interest was front loaded and that no matter how quickly I pay it off, I will still end up paying 4 years worth of interest (about 4,000). Can this man be right? What can I do?

Tim
  • welcometomylair
    Options
    Hi,

I am relatively new to moneysavingexpert.com but thank you so much for this website!

I have seen that the recommended credit card for 'life of balance' is 3.9% p.a with M&S but having read this thread I am worried that it may cost me more than this (even though there is no balance transfer fee).

Is there a formula I can use with variables:
    x = principal (original amount borrowed on credit card eg £3k)
    y = interest rate (3.9% p.a)
    z = monthly repayment (eg £200)
    to work out how long it will take me to pay of the card?

I assume that the interest would be added on each month? Is 3.9% p.a equivalent to 0.319325% p.m.?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance
  • jamesd
    jamesd Posts: 26,103 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options