🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

First plus

Options
Hi, newbie here, but I really need some advice.

In 2006 my husband and I took a a large loan with first plus and secured it on our property. The loan was like 125% equity on the property. We took out the PPI as at the time they made it sound brilliant. Yes take it out and in 5 years you can get all the money back. Now reading through what others have said, and realising how stupid and niavie we were, I believe that we were actually mis sold the policy for the following reason.

Policy only covers my husband.
Its not for the duration of the loan.
We were not offered any alternatives, or told that we can find our own insurance to cover it.
It was added to the loan and we pay interest on it.
At the time we were not told that the PPI only got returned on the condition that we never defaulted or missed a payment.

Now following money problems due to firstplus not helping us.... Monthly payment to the loan was 900. We requested to have the payment term increased and PPI refunded, payment term can only be increased once which is also not disclosed in any paper work. And the refund after 3 years of paying PPI was 600 and would not reduce our payments.

We have lost our home and are now in rented accomodation and have a short fall that they are harrassing us for. Trying to send people to our house to "talk through money" I really dont know where to start as the PPI was orginally for 12,000 and interest on top of that. Which I think we are entitled to have back.

Thanks for reading and any advice you can give me would be appreciated.

Comments

• di3004
    di3004 Posts: 42,579 Forumite