Move mortgage mountain project

Options
Hello all,

I have followed quite a lot of MFW diaries with great interest and admiration, and so have decided to take up the gauntlet, and start my own diary. It may ramble a lot, so apologies in advance

Some background:

I am a newly divorced 47 year old with two teenage daughters. Up until Jan of this year I had a joint offset mortgage, which I had managed to get under 50K with 8 years remaining. Fast forward to today, I have a mortgage of £120,000 with a term of 17 years (really scarey). This was as a result of buying out my OH.

Because I am a self employed IT contractor, with less than 1 years accounts (at the time), I had a severely limited choice of mortgage available. In the end I took out a 2 year Fixed rate mortgage with HSBC (4.19%).

I am allowed to make 20% overpayments, as a regular payment (no lump sums allowed), which I am already doing. So for the rest of the fixed term I will be concentrating on putting money away in savings accounts, so that I can make a lumpsum payment at the end of the fr.

So far, I have a regular savings account which is paying 8% ( this is not as great as it sounds as I have an HSBC Advance current account which takes the shine off abit). I am putting the max amount allowed into this, which is £250 per month.

I have a Nationwide e-ISA, but I am looking around for other good accounts.

So, I thought I would set myself the challenge to get the mortgage to under 100K in two years. Does this seem sensible? Fixed rate will end in Feb 2012, and then make a lump sum payment, and possibly remortgage at that point.

Thanks for reading if you got this far!!
"Carpe Diem"
MFW - Starting mortgage April 2010 - 120,000
MFW - restart Nov 2013 - £70207.88 & £14086.49
Current balance - £62459.49 & £10380.19

Comments

• evab_2
    evab_2 Posts: 2,336 Forumite
    Options
    Good luck with your journey and welcome!
  • newgirly
    newgirly Posts: 8,942 Forumite