PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

Would anyone give us a mortgage?

Options
Hi there,
I just want to ask a question about mortgages. I've never used this website before so i hope that my question will be appropriate and not too stupid.
Me and my husband are living in a flat and want to move 400 miles away back to be near my family. We want to get a mortgage to buy a house so that we can start our family.
This is our situation:
  1. We live in a flat that was inherited and currently don't have any debt or a mortgage on it.
  2. The flat is worth around £80,000-£100,00
  3. Ideally we would like to keep it and rent it and have worked out that we should get around £350 per month from rental income.
  4. My husband has had to go self employed and he is an electrician getting steady work with one specific company and this will keep going indefinately. He earns around £1,800 per month.
  5. Currently i'm not working but usually i do temporary work in offices.
  6. I've checked my credit score and it's ok, neither of us have any loans or debts.