Could I make photography my little earner?

Hi all,

I was already planning on trying to make some money out of my interest in photography anyway, but then my mum phoned to tell me I might have to pay rent when I go back home! (I'm a student).

Any tips or ideas? I have a fair amount of equipment, a prosumer body, two flashguns I can set off remotely, three lenses...

I've been wondering if there's some money to be made in taking photos of bands in some sort of conceptual/album like affair, I've already set up a shoot which I'll do with a friend's band for free to see how it goes. I'm not holding out much hope for the idea so far as making money's concerned, but I'll give it a try nonetheless. Where and how should I advertise, and what areas of photography would you say would be a good idea to try?

I realise that there are plenty of professionals in my area probably with far better equipment, but I figure that I can quite happily undercut them which might give me some sort of advantage perhaps.

I was going to post a link to my portfolio, but apparently I'm too new - they must measure this by posts 'cause I've had this account for years!

Thanks, Tom.

Comments

• Scaredy_Cat_3
    Scaredy_Cat_3 Posts: 2,812 Forumite
    Depends on the sort of work you want to do. My husband used to do portraits - mostly going to people's houses and doing shots of their kids. Do you have backgrounds? He also did weddings, but that was a lot more involved because of wedding albums etc. Was much easier just selling portrait photos in cardboard mounts.

Most of his advertising was word of mouth, but we did put an advert in one of those little local papers once. Also I think we posted leaflets through doors on the estate where we lived - it was such a long time ago I can't really remember.

The idea you have about photographing bands sounds more lucrative, but I guess it depends on how many bands you know, or could interest in the service?
  • Boopop
    Boopop Posts: 26