Some days I hate my job Blog Discussion

This is the discussion to link on the back of Martin's "Some days I hate my job" blog. Please read the blog first, as the discussion follows it.

Read Martin's "Some days I hate my job" Blog

Comments

• I used to work as an assistant in a special needs school. It was a dirty job sometimes - having to feed and toilet the children who couldn't do these things for themselves - and hard work pretty much *all* the time. In spite of this, it was a job that I loved and one that I'd still be doing now if my non-driving self hadn't have had to move across town. There are few things to beat the joy and satisfaction of being a part of the team that encouraged a nine year-old child to take his first tottering steps down the length of the corridor with the aid of a zimmer frame, after his parents had been told almost from birth that he'd never even be able to stand up. Or the elation of hearing a child say one word, knowing that with that one word she's just doubled her existing vocabulary (even if it *was* part of an unfortunate expression she'd picked up while watching rugby on the telly with her dad over the weekend. Oops :) ) Little miracles happened in that place every day, and it was usually a riot of laughs most of the time too.

Sadly, many of the kids had terminal illnesses or were born with life-threatening conditions that would see they'd never make old bones. Consequently, coming in to work to find that one of the kids had died, often with no warning, was a fairly regular occurrence. *Those* were the days I hated my job, and I'd feel angry, frustrated and sad about not being able to change things.