Late Payment

Options
Hi - !st post - excellent site.
I have a Lloyds TSB Platinum Mastercard - I owe £4k on it & I am using it for the interest free over 9 months. I usually pay monthly payments online using my Lloyds TSB Platinum current account. I have just returned from holiday and have realised I had forgotten to pay my monthly amount. It was due yesterday on the 15th. I immediately sent a payment using my online facility. I have had no negative credit feedback before and am now worried that this late payment is going to go against me in the future. I am planning on getting a mortgage in the very near future and I am worried this will go against me. I have now set up a direct debit to pay an amount monthly.
Will this forgetfulness go against me? Thanks 4 any replies.

Comments

• BONJOEY
    BONJOEY Posts: 819 Forumite
    Options
    why not phone lloyds tsb up and explain the situation, and that it was a genuine mistake ( i,e you forgot because you were on holiday, and have now set up a d/d), and to look as you have never made a late payment before, they might not charge you a late payment, or mark it late,

one late payment wont go against you, its only if you have more than one in a short period of time, or a default that will seriously affect your credit,
    hope this helps xx
  • dmc_uk
    Options
    Bonjoey - Thanks for that - I have just rung Lloyds TSB and explained - They said I would be charged £12 and there will be a mark against me.
    Cheers - banked with them for 20 odd years and never even go anywhere near my overdraft. I leave a minimum of £4k in my current account to get the benefits of my Platinum Current Account. Cheers LLOyds TSB for great customer service.
    Do you think if I rang again I could get the mark overturned. I'm not bothered about the £12 charge?
    Thanks again for your quick reply.
  • bengal-stripe
    bengal-stripe Posts: 3,349 Forumite
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    Options