Running an affiliate website - where do I stand with regards to tax/earnings?

Options
Hi,

I run an affiliate website, coming up to the end of the first month. I've earnt about £15 in my first month, which is quite good as I understand! First page of google too, so hopefully it will grow.

I do have a part time job (which I don't earn over the threshold for), and I'm a student. At the moment, all of the money I earn from the affiliate commissions will pay into my own bank account.

I've read on an affiliate forum that people buy Sage software and get accountants and stuff... do I really have to go that far? I don't expect it to make more than £100 a month at the most!

Comments

• ukbill69
    ukbill69 Posts: 2,789 Forumite
    Photogenic First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    You can make up to £6,475 before tax. See: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/it.htm
    Kind Regards
    Bill
  • motorguy
    motorguy Posts: 22,479 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    ukbill69 wrote: »
    You can make up to £6,475 before tax. See: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/it.htm

Surely it would need to be registered as a business? Its income after all. There may be no tax due, but the HMRC will want evidence of that.
  • fengirl_2
    fengirl_2 Posts: 4,530 Forumite
    Options
    No, you only register as self employed if you are liable to tax or NIC's. If you earn under £6475 a year, you are not liable and you dont register.
    £705,000 raised by client groups in the past 18 mths :beer:
  • Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    fengirl wrote: »
    No, you only register as self employed if you are liable to tax or NIC's. If you earn under £6475 a year, you are not liable and you dont register.

No. you have to register when you start self employment - there is no de-minimis limit. See the HMRC and businesslink websites for more details.
  • debbie42