Been/going through a Debt Relief Order?

Options
Hi, newbie here so be gentle!

I've currently booked an appointment with the CAB to dgetting a DRO. I have debts of £8000-9000 with 5-6 creditors. I have a permanent job that starts in around 4 weeks as I am waiting for a Criminal records check to go through. I will only be on £1200 a year and after a six month period of unemployment I am back living with my parents.

So my question is to those in the know is this..as I am living with my parents my surplus income will be more than £50 per month (not including paying my debts) but I still wouldn't be able to pay minimum payments. Also my parents want me out of the house when i start getting paid so I will need to rent and in that scenario I will be under the requirement for the surplus income.

How does the surplus income criteria work? does it include your propsed minimum payments or just your other living expenses ie bills, food, travel costs to work etc?

sorry if i've confused you, i've definatley confused myself but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Anders.

Comments

• Tixy
    Tixy Posts: 31,455 Forumite
    Options
    Hi

I am not someone in the know for debt relief orders but maybe try readng this http://www.nationaldebtline.co.uk/england_wales/factsheet.php?page=37_debt_relief_orders or reading/asking on this thread on the bankruptcy board- http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=1385275
    A smile enriches those who receive without making poorer those who give
    or "It costs nowt to be nice"
  • immoral_angeluk
    immoral_angeluk Posts: 24,506 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    AndersM wrote: »
    Hi, newbie here so be gentle!