My first diary

Options
cococoladebt
cococoladebt Posts: 221 Forumite
edited 18 June 2011 at 10:48PM in Debt free diaries
I have been a follower of money saving expert for a while but thought I'd start my diary to keep me sane.

Having graduated in 2007 - I have just turned 24 - with personal debts of £6k and a student loan of 10k with a 2:2 degree, I thought my life was just beginning and I could pay back all my debts but its never been the same as I've never had a job which has paid - not my fault, most graduates are having a tough time or I am just unlucky in life....

I have been working at my current job for 16 months and I am yet to be paid a salary, only my expenses are covered. But I think this will change shortly. If it doesn't change by June it will be 3 years since graduation and I haven't earned any money and I think this will make me go into servere depression. How I have survived so far is anyone's guess.

My debts today stand at:

Personal debts: £10,836.93
Student Loan: £8,900.00
Credit Card Debts: £11,605.95/£16,240.53 - 71% paid off.

£4,634.61 credit card debt remaining. Aim for credit card debt free before
[STRIKE]October 2011[/STRIKE] December 2012. In debt since 2004.

Comments

• cococoladebt
    edited 5 April 2010 at 6:49PM
    Options
    Credit Cards

Marks & Spencers - 3,581.69 = 0% expires in August 2010
    Halifax - 1,997.54 = 15.94%
    Virgin - 2,786.77 = 0% expires April 2011
    Egg - 1,510.93 = 0% expires in August 2010

Overdrafts

RBS - 960.00 = 0% expires in June 2010

• Aileen_Una
    Aileen_Una Posts: 102 Forumite
    Options
    With regards to your decision not "to go down the benefits route"...

JSA (only one of a few options I know) isn't available anyway to those who have been in education or training in the last 4 years.

Good luck with getting the salary
  • macgirl
    macgirl Posts: 5,091 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hello there and welcome to diaryland :hello: