🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Tackling This Problem One Debt At A Time

Options
Hi everyone,

I have been on the DFW boards before and failed miserably...I think maybe I wasn't ready to deal with the problem, or just found it too much to deal with.

Anyway, I have now got my light well and truly on! My situation is that I am getting married in a few months to the man of my dreams (but it's all paid for and I'd lose deposits if I cancelled so that's not an option). I have just found out that at the end of June when I finish my training as a solicitor, I won't be taken on. I was devastated when I found out, but am feeling a lot more positive about it now. I will find work, it's just a matter of staying positive.

We have made the decision to move in with my in-laws until after the wedding to give me time to find work and to allow us to make a dent in our debts. It is not ideal as we'll be starting married life off with my parents-in-law, but both of our parents did it and I think if it enables us to have a better life in the long-run, clear this debt and start with a clean slate, then it's got to be a good thing!

Anyway, I'm struggling with the idea of paying off all of my debt, so I am just going to break it down into small chunks. My overall total is around £8,000 but my fiance has around £10,000 in his name. He has got lots of overtime opportunities coming up so hopefully we can really start to make headway on these debts once we've moved home.

My first debt to tackle is my Halifax Credit Card (my most expensive debt) which today totals: £1,322.64.