Corporate Bonds

Options
I'm pretty new to investing in unit trusts and just wanted a bit of advice.
I would class myself as a very cautious investor and at the moment I only want to invest using my ISA allowance. I wish to invest in investment grade corporate bonds and assuming the fund consists mainly of high quality bonds, I plan to simply select the one which returns the highest yield.

Apparently the highest paying funds are more likely to see a drop in capital value however I don't really understand why this would happen if the fund invests mainly in AA / A rated bonds.

In the past I have bought funds using the BestInvest website. My choice was based upon the gross yield (obtained for other sites) and the TER. The info pack that came from BestInvest states that the site earns a 'trail commission' of up to 0.5% per annum. Should I be adding this to the TER when researching different funds?

Comments

• Rollinghome
    Rollinghome Posts: 2,677 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    edited 17 March 2010 at 3:14PM
    Options
    Nazitf wrote: »
    I'm pretty new to investing in unit trusts and just wanted a bit of advice.
    I would class myself as a very cautious investor and at the moment I only want to invest using my ISA allowance. I wish to invest in investment grade corporate bonds and assuming the fund consists mainly of high quality bonds, I plan to simply select the one which returns the highest yield.

Apparently the highest paying funds are more likely to see a drop in capital value however I don't really understand why this would happen if the fund invests mainly in AA / A rated bonds.

In the past I have bought funds using the BestInvest website. My choice was based upon the gross yield (obtained for other sites) and the TER. The info pack that came from BestInvest states that the site earns a 'trail commission' of up to 0.5% per annum. Should I be adding this to the TER when researching different funds?