Options
2»

Comments

• withabix
    withabix Posts: 9,508 Forumite
    edited 1 March 2010 at 11:13AM
    Options
    Jeff77 wrote: »
    Whoa, he's not replying anymore. I have a question, where did you get your number 1 withabix? I'm confused because I got another perspective on that. Just want to clarify things. :)

I've been doing it for ten years, complete with the obligatory Self Assessment Tax Return, so I know the tax position.

The amount reclaimable is:

1st 10,000 miles: (40p less [employer payment per mile]) x Your tax rate (20%/40%)

Remainder of miles: (25p less [employer payment per mile]) x Your tax rate (20%/40%)

Tax relief is not claimable for journeys to your permanent place of work (except in limited situations, which typically only apply commonly in the construction industry and similar).

The 15p I referred to was specifically in relation to pure dead dopey's example.
    British Ex-pat in British Columbia!
  • GJUK_2
    GJUK_2 Posts: 38 Forumite
    Options
    Jeff77 wrote: »
    Whoa, he's not replying anymore. I have a question, where did you get your number 1 withabix? I'm confused because I got another perspective on that. Just want to clarify things. :)

Whoa, yes he is. He's just got up, working from home has its perks.
  • GJUK_2
    Options
    withabix wrote: »
    I think you are better off sticking with your company car in your case. You will be financially worse off opting out.

Your employer is likely to have restrictions on the car you can have and its age and mileage.

My employer stipluates the following:

Max CO2: 225g/km (was imposed to limit SUVs and gas guzzlers)
    Max age: 5 years
    Max mileage: 150,000 miles (we are in a high mileage industry)
    Servicing: Must be carried out to manufacturer's spec/frequency.
    Number of Seats: 4 adults minimum (prevents most sports cars)
    10% less car allowance if petrol engine
    Proof of business use insurance must be provided annually.