Company car Vs Cash allowance

Options
Hello,

I'm new to this site and I'm afraid I'm going to ask a question, which, I expect has been asked a lot on here. I've read and searched for topics on company cars and cash on here, read and digested them. However I want to confirm some things with the 'experts' (you lot!!) if I may.

Please bear with my lengthy post, I thank anyone who gives me their time in trying to assit me.

I currently work in IT, full time employment.
I earn £23,000 a year, falling in to the 20% tax bracket.

I have a £22,000 58 plate ford mondeo at the moment, which I know I pay tax on, how much however I'm really not sure and I've never found out. People have told me it's around the £600 mark.

I'm looking at 'jumping' out of this and using my car allowance which is £325 per month before tax (if indeed i do get taxed on this?).

I'm lookign at buying a £3,500 volvo T5 to knock about in for a few years.

Cost of car £3,500.
MOT each year £40 assuming nothing breaks.
Tax £190
Insurance £1,100 (thats right! a lot i know, im 25 with two accidents using 2 years NCB)
Service costs £300 a year.
Parts breaking say£500.

Total per year then, £5630 for the first year. Assuming I run the car over two years, £3880, with the car still being worth £1500, or so.

My payments for the car cash option is £325 per month. So - 20% tax (I assume this is the case) this comes to £260. X 12 months this is 3120 per year cash.

My company have advised that i must use a car fuel card with my car, which is fine. But I've read somewhere that I can claim 40p per mile for the first 10,000 miles and 25p there after when using a company car.

One question: Can this be done with a car fuel card?

I expect to do 30,000 a year, 25,000 business miles and 5,000 of my own miles.

So this is where I get stuck. @25,000 business miles. Does this mean I can claim 40p x 10,000 and 25p x 15,000 per year? = £7750 per year! or not?

Other questions: