What can I do?? Help!

Hi all

I was forced to leave my full-time uni course(in my second year) at the end of November 09 as my daughter was put in hospital with serious mental health issues. At the time I left I was unable to contact my tutors due to them being unavailable and me being very busy and stressed, so not alot of communication in the beginning. I found the tutors very unapproachable and unsympathetic and was eventually removed from the course due to absence. I would like to go back this September but have been told that I am no longer eligible for finance as I have left a course.

I am very keen to complete my degree and understand why I was removed from the course. Could I go back to another course at another University and pick up where I left off at the start of the new term this year??? Or have I cocked things up and will have to fund my own studies? Confused. I am a mature student.

Any help or feedback really appreciated!!

Dido
I'm not a "SINGLE" mum, I'm a "DOUBLE" mum!:D

Comments

• Taiko
    Taiko Posts: 2,711 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Who told you you'd be ineligible?
  • djdido2
    djdido2 Posts: 3,446 Forumite
    I had a message through one of the other students from my tutor. Asked could I put my studies on hold until I was able to return and was told no I couldn't???. I should really have found the time to see where I stand but things have been so hectic.
  • Indie_Kid
    Indie_Kid Posts: 23,077 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    I thought (in general) that tutors didn't know much / anything about finance?
    Sealed pot challenge #232. Gold stars from Sue-UU - :staradmin :staradmin £75.29 banked
    50p saver #40 £20 banked
    Virtual sealed pot #178 £80.25
  • Sounds like a load of cobblers until you hear it from the tutors directly. Contact the student welfare office at the university.