PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

To agent or not to agent

Options
I have a little rental flat in London which I have been renting out privately for the last 9 months or so.

It's been a bit time consuming, and I get the feeling that I am not brilliant at selecting tenants! I have done the right things with inventories, gas certificates and deposits, and have arranged for a few visits by various tradies. I don't have an EPC - but no-one has ever asked for it (probably ever in any house in history to be honest!)

Anyway, I am a bit over it all... I want to keep the flat, but the landlord stuff is annoying and more work that I wanted. Especially as I have a very demanding job that I would prefer to focus on.

So, I am thinking of using an agent and engage then to take over a full management service. Does anyone use agents here? Does is really make a difference in the quality of tenants, and how can I check out the agent to make sure they are not going to just send out their mates to do endless expensive repairs! I am happy to pay the cost (13%) if it really means that the flat is managed for me - but not if it just means that they call me to ask questions all the time.