Help...need to calculate my stock for tax return!

Options
HELLO, I SELF EMPLOYED: I AM SELLING BOOKS ONLINE, I STARTED THIS BUSINESS MORE THAN 1 YEAR AGO AND NOW I HAVE TO FILL IN MY TAX RETURN FOR THE YEAR 2008/2009.

I HAVE SOME STOCK (OLD BOOKS) I BOUGHT LAST YEAR, THE ACTUAL VALUE IS £500, I AM NOT AN EXPERT AND I AM WONDERING HOW TO CALCULATE STOCK FOR MY BUSINESS.

SOMEONE TOLD ME IN A PREVIOUS THREAD THE FOLLOWING: You cannot include the cost of stock not sold. You need to make a calculation:
value of stock brought forward plus stock purchsed less stock on hand and this gives you the cost of sales which go into your accounts.

I HAVE STOCK BROUGHT FORWARD FROM LAST YEAR STOCK (£500), I BOUGHT SOME STOCK THIS YEAR THE ACTUAL VALUE IS £1100.

MY ACTUAL STOCK IN HAND IS £475 (BOOKS I HAVE ACTUALLY HOME, SO THERE IS A LOSS OF £25 FROM THE BROUGHT FORWARD STOCK)...SO THE COST OF SALES IS £1125.

MY BUSINESS PROFITS ARE £2200 - £1125 = £1075 THIS IS THE GROSS PROFIT. I HAVE OTHER COSTS OF £90O IN MY BUSINESS (INTERNET, OTHER COSTS)

SO THE £1075 - £900 = NET PROFIT SHOULD BE £175…

I HOPE I AM CORRECT…THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP…LOZ

Comments

• TM1976
    TM1976 Posts: 717 Forumite
    Options
    You should include stock at cost.

Profit effect of stock movement is = cost of stock b/fwd - cost of stock c/fwd
  • jezabel
    jezabel Posts: 32 Forumite
    Options
    tm1976 wrote: »
    you should include stock at cost.

Profit effect of stock movement is = cost of stock b/fwd - cost of stock c/fwd

sorry again...what is stock as cost...i think is the actual cost i have paid for the stock...am i right?

So my calculation is not correct?
  • jezabel
    Options
    the cost of stock carried forward is the stock I have left home, the stock I need to use as opening stock for the next tax year...correct?

Where I have to put the actual cost of stock carried forward in the tax return form? Is it considered a profit?

thank you liz
  • TM1976
    Options