2010 is the year to be debt free

I've been hanging around the site for a couple of years and have followed all the advice about cutting down, swopping suppliers etc. Our debt has yo-yo'ed during this time with a downwards trend, but we've never shifted it all. I've been thinking 2010 is a fresh new year so I thought I'd keep a diary to keep track.

I've sat down today and tallied it all up and our total debt is £7474-21.

£6652.24 Loan Fixed £475.16 x 14 payments
£ 483.60 Abbey OD
£ 259.00 Next Balance currently 0,sales spending to be added this month
£ 79.37 Credit Card-a credit of £109 being processed in next week

So on the last day of 2009 I'm determined to shift this debt once and for all. I've already asked to join the £2 sealed pot challenge and will be looking at other challenges for inspiration. It's all small steps, but I'm determined to bin our debt this year. My hubby is backing me and we're all ready to get started! Good Luck to all DFW in 2010 and finger's crossed we'll do it.
Starting again and working towards our new df life!
A very proud forces wife

Comments

• Thanks for the advice Closed. Neither my next or the credit card have got into the interest stage yet. The next amount is what will show on my next statement so I've put it down to make sure it's included in our total debt figure. I have a £109 refund to go back onto my card for a refund and that will be done before the next statment is due. I've been swopping and moving money for the last couple of weeks to get the cheapest borrowing I can. The OD is with the Abbey becuase they're % works out a lot cheaper than the halifax £1/day.
    A very proud forces wife
  • Lemon_Tree
    Lemon_Tree Posts: 10,202 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    welcome to the diaries herewegoagain.