Teaching AND Exam marking.

Just wondering who does this and whether they find it manageable.

I'm in my 2nd year of teaching, doing an MA in Education and am launching Psychology at school this year. But I could really do with extra cash. So I was thinking about exam marking.

I did it for ETS for the SAT's during the big !!!! up just prior to being scrapped. I found it manageable if not a little laborious. My circumstances have changed since then though.

I was training then, now I'm full time teaching. I lived with DH full time, but now I don't see him Monday - Friday (he's doing his PhD away from home).

I could do with the extra cash but am worried I might spread myself too thin.
Reduction in daily mortgage interest since October 23 - £0.31 (started new mortgage)
% of house owned/% of mortgage paid off. December 23 - 32.30%/24.54%
MFiT-T6 #5
MFW 2024 #6
MF Date: Oct 37 May 37

Comments

• pavlovs_dog
    pavlovs_dog Posts: 10,198 Forumite
    Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    might be worth you posting on the TES forums?

i'm in my nqt year so marking isnt a consideration for me at the moment. The biggest complaint from colleagues who do it is the way it totally takes over your life for those few weeks.

you teach science don't you? have you thought about tutoring as a means of bringing in income?
    know thyself
    Nid wy'n gofyn bywyd moethus...
  • twinklie
    twinklie Posts: 5,052 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Yeah I have posted on TES but know there are quite a few teachers on here also. People on here tend to give a more balanced argument I've found...

I don't want a year round commitment. I don't have a life Mon - Fri with DH being away, so thats why I was thinking of exam marking. I have a 40 min journey each way to school and back and the idea of then going out again to tutor horrifies me. I couldn't do it at my home because it's not suitable (DIY disaster).