We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Not sure what to pay and time is running out.?

Options
:confused: hi, im a stupid newbie to paying tax/ filling tax returns etc. ive only been self employed the last 2 years and only really found out about what i have to do recently. my problem is that i did some work for cash in 2007/08 and also this year and i want to declare it. however i have not made any records of what i have earnt. will i get in trouble if i just take a guess at what i made? i dont intend on lying but i obviously dont want to say i made more than i did either? any ideas on my best approach to this? thanks :confused:

Comments

• Rolo_Tomasi
    Options
    Have you registered as self employed yet? If not you need to do this asap and tell the Revenue what date you started. This will probably lead to a 2007-08 Tax Return being sent to you (along with a late registration penalty). You need to complete this Return as accurately as possible - surely you have bank statements and some receipts - and then make a note in the other information section that you have used estimates and why.

This Return may just be accepted or the Revenue may enquire into it at which point you will have to justify the figures you have used. Remember if this happens it is your responsibility to prove the accuracy of the figures, not the Revenues to prove they are incorrect.
  • danrogers
    Options