Being made redundent 24th Dec.

Hi,

I am a delivery driver at a supermarket and my company has closed our department due to the success of home delivery and given our delivery area to a dedicated warehouse 25 miles away.

I had a meeting today and this started my 30 day consultation. They have offered a few part time jobs in store for people to consider but as there are over 40 of us and only 10 jobs its not looking good. They have also said that external vacancies will be looked into and jobs in the warehouse are unknown. Can they start the consultation without giving us all of the options open to us?

I have also seen today a delivery van advertising vacancies in the warehouse that is taking over our routes and a quick call to them has confirmed that they are looking for full and part time drivers. When I asked in my meeting however, I was told that they still did not know if vacancies existed in the warehouse.

I also found out today that 2 people that "used to" work on our department but had been helping out elsewhere had already been offered perminent places in this other department, yet they have also been offered redundency if they do not wish to take this position. I am not sure how this can be as the company assured us that no positions will be offered before everyone has a chance to say if they are interested. Only then will each position be offered based on the merrits of all interested staff members. If they have left the department how can the company offer them redundancy? If they are still on the department, should the jobs they have been offered be open to everyone as the company stated to me.

Sorry for the long post, my head is spinning with the thought of having no job after the christmas weekend.

Comments

• *Paris*
    *Paris* Posts: 100 Forumite
    I just avoided redundancy in April, and my bf is currently being made redundant, so I know how you feel with the head spinning