Compulsory Consumer Finance Education Discussion

edited 24 November 2009 at 11:14PM in Student Money Saving
193 replies 13.9K views

Replies

• ben80 wrote: »
    In principle it's a great idea as I had no 'financial education' (left Secondary in '97).

Cue the moaning teacher...

I'm a Primary School teacher and we can barely get anything done as it is - more and more is being packed in and nothing is being taken out, e.g. this year it was Modern Foreign Languages.

Could Martin possibly remind Mr Balls (how unfortunate) that there isn't limitless time in a Primary classroom an that eventually something will have to give!

Maybe this is something that parents should take on. After all, we're all concerned to make sure our children make their way in the world successfully. If parents could continue to be educated simply by means of the tv, which most of us watch, then we could pass the info on to our children. Maybe Martin could devise something for the tots on the lines of the Mr Men perhaps. Or an educational computer game.
  • I know what tripped up one lad I know when he first started living on his own - budget planning. He underestimated the costs of running a household and left no contingency for emergencies. It was unexpected vet bills that tipped him into debt, and that then triggered a downward spiral.

So, having a margin for the unexpected (or choosing to insure against the things you can hopefully predict) is very important.
  • Isn't it the house price bubbles, both sides of the Atlantic, that got us into this mess? I should like to teach kids how it was in the short term interests of banks to artificially inflate prices by pumping money into the system with their "instant negative equity" 125% morgages, aided and abetted by the estate agents, gleefully trousering their ever fatter percentages. And now we seem to be at it again - watch out for the double dip. Any taxpayers' money left for bailing out the bankers again?