Raising Credit Limit for Student with Business

Options
patwa_2
patwa_2 Posts: 1,542 Forumite
Hello.

I don't know how much of a mess I've got myself into, probably mostly due to not kknowing all there was to know, but I'd be grateful for any help you can offer.

I'm a student at University at the moment, however I'm also a sole trader running a business from home selling products online.

I got a Natwest Student Mastercard in August last year with a credit limit of £350. My friend is with HSBC and only has a £250 limit, so naturally I was rather pleased with this. This is my first ever credit card.

I only started to really make purchases of stock for my business in January this year, and as many of the purchases are made over the internet and from abroad, I needed to use the card. However, I am finding that the credit limit is too low for me - many of the purchases exceed £500 or £1000 and have to be made by bank transfer. This lengthens the average time from initial order to item delivery from 10 days to six weeks.

I called Natwest, and I explained the situation. They told me I was not supposed to use the card for business purchases, something which I genuinely did not realise. I said that nevertheless, I wanted a credit limit rise. They said they could give me £400, but any higher than that and I would have to write to them, sending proof of funds. I can do this, as I do have an account with another bank with funds more than enough to cover the repayments for a higher credit limit. I told them that ideally, I was looking for an initial rise to £1000.

The problem that I now face is that I now KNOW that my credit score/limit is 350. I did a signup to the lending exchange Zopa, to try to make a bit of extra cash, and they tell you your score as an optional step during the registration process.