Claiming JSA and declaring earnings...

Options
tobybowes
tobybowes Posts: 409 Forumite
edited 14 November 2009 at 11:35AM in Employment, jobseeking & training
Hello, First ill give you a little background information.

I am currently signing on to Job Seekers Allowance (JSA) and have been for over 12months through no fault of my own. Due to the lack of the jobs on the market i decided a few months ago that I would give self-employment a try (as a mobile dj).
I purchased the equipment costing over £1000, handed out a few business cards and the calls have slowly started coming in.
I understand that to stay on JSA you must be working under 16 hours and you get to keep the first £5 of you weekly earnings.
Now because im new to self-employment if i get a call and book a gig for 1 night (4hours + setup time) i would charge £80, i would then be able to keep £5 of that if declared (which is less than the cost of the travel and insurance for the event etc), if i was to sign off i might only get one gig in 4 weeks (again making me at a loss).
What would be the best option?

Also, I have my first gig tonight, although its booked at £80 i was thinking about dropping my price to £5 hence not losing anything really and giving myself a kind of training session.... would this all be above board?

I went into the venue last and the landlord told me he had also recieved a letter from the Job Centre Plus office stating im now working for him, they didnt know about the event as it was going to be declared on tuesday (ive always declared post-payment). Im concerned that someone might of called the benefit hotline or something (i have at no point wanted to cheat the system or kept the event quiet), what should i do?

The event is tonight, i see my advisor on tuesday.
Should i just charge £5?
Should i declare it before hand?
Or can i sign off as of yesterday and sign back on tomorrow (i think this would be dodgy but im only asking cause ive no idea).