Options

Comments

• melipona
    melipona Posts: 492 Forumite
    edited 7 August 2012 at 1:29PM
    Options
    One site that offers a selection of free editable will templates is:

http://www.compactlaw.co.uk/free-legal-documents.html

If your needs are simple it may be a solution.
  • bazwaldo
    Options
    Thought it may be of interest to those reading this thread that Skipton Building Society are offering free wills for society members.
    This free service is not shown on the website, however i was in my local branch yesterday and was offered this service for free.
    You have to book a review with one of their advisers and they will arrange the free will for you.
    The costs of these services are normally £114 for a single will or £180 for a mirror will.
    I guess the only snag is sitting through the financial review with the adviser.
    HTH.
  • oliverSG8
    Options
    As a will writer I have no issue with people wanting free wills, and am happy to point them in the right direction. what I would say is that every will I draft where the client says it will be a simple and easy will never is - there are always issues where my clients say - oh I hadn't thought of that. Don't just jump online without a good deal of research if you want a cheap online will or want to do it yourself. Go to the libary and read up on all the main issues.

The common mistakes I stop are people having no beneficiaries beyond husband and wife or kids (families do die at the same time sometimes), having no reserve executors, trustees or guardians (i.e. don't leave the choice to the court after you die if one of them can't act) and although a minor point, put something in about your funeral wishes. It makes things much easier for the family you leave behind knowing what you want to do, because everyone has their own individual idea.